And I thought spiders were my biggest fear….

This week I decided that I don’t want to reach my target weight and still have an eating disorder. My solution? Start facing my fears. If I wanted to stop eating disorderly I realised that i need to eradicate my fear of certain foods.

I once read that ‘You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing you think you cannot do.’

So this weeks challenge is facing my fears. I have to admit that this is something I couldn’t do alone. If I get to choose what I am eating, I am still unable to away away from the safe options and test myself. So I handed over complete control to my mum and dad. This week they are choosing everything on my plate. I used to think that spiders and roller coasters were frightening, but nothing felt as scary as when my mum made me eat a croissant for breakfast, a jacket potato for lunch and cheesecake for pudding. But I did it, and I am still here to tell the story today. In fact, I managed to face All of these fears in the same day.

As a result, I now have three foods that don’t seem as scary and slowly food is beginning to loose control over my life.

So even if you think some foods are your biggest phobia, don’t let the food take control. Feel the fear and do it anyway.

Leave a Reply

