Expressing Anger

Sometimes people say that Anger is a bad thing and that we shouldn’t express anger. However, what I am beginning to learn is that anger is a perfectly normal human emotion. We can express anger, we just need to learn how to do it in a healthy way.

 

If I get angry at people I tend to keep it in. I am a people pleaser and so getting angry at someone hardly goes hand in hand with trying to be nice to everyone. However, today I learned a good way of being able to tell people when they make you angry, and at the same time, taking ownership for how you’re feeling:

 

“When I see you do/ When I hear you say … What I make up in my head is …. and as a result I feel…”

 

Following the Banoffee pie incident in my previous post, I never actually told the other patient who said that comment how angry it made me. Instead, I kept all the anger inside and let it eat me up. I figured that I can’t expect everyone to understand what triggers my ED and it wasn’t a personal attack on me and so I have no right to say anything. But applying this new way of expressing anger, I could have said:

 

When I heard you say that the pudding was gross and you don’t have to eat it, what I make up in my head is that I am a greedy, gross and disgusting person for eating it, and as a result I feel really angry and upset. 

 

Saying this wouldn’t have been an attack on her as I was taking full ownership for the fact that it was my head that told me I was gross, not her. Also, it may have made me less resentful and may have prevented similar comments being made around the dinner table in the first place. Win Win!

Leave a Reply

