You get by with a little help from your friends

Last week was a tough week for me. As things in my life were changing and began to feel unmanageable I turned back to my old coping mechanism: Ed. He had me tightly in his grip for a few days and tried holding my hand and showing me the way. However, the truth is, Ed is no friend.

Although I may have learnt the hard way, last week taught me that joining forces with Ed is no longer a way to make me feel better and deal with life’s problems. I am now grateful for that reminder and will try and remember last week whenever Ed tries to tempt me to go back to him.

The hard thing after any trip up is finding the strength to keep going. However, I am grateful and fortunate to have a lot of true friends who are really there to support me. Unlike Ed, these friends want what is best for me, they want me to be happy, the love me for who I am, they don’t care about my size and they make me feel worthy. Why should I waste my time hanging out with Ed when I have real friends to spend time with? Ed is by far the worst friend I have ever had.

So, to pick me up I saw one of my best friends for a couple of days and I am feeling great. It is so important for me to surround myself with people who bring out the best in me and Ed, sure as hell, is not one of those people.

One thought on “You get by with a little help from your friends

  1. Hey JB – I am so pleased to hear that you are sounding so positive and feeling good. Small steps WILL get you there. You are being so brave with you blog. Keep it going and lots of love and hugs to you xxx

Leave a Reply

