Life Begins At The End Of Your Comfort Zone

Image

My final piece of Art from the clinic…

Today we were asked to make a collage. Something I read recently which I am trying to keep in mind is ‘life begins at the end of your comfort zone’. The small circle in the middle of this image represents my “comfort” zone: Life with Ed. However, I am now learning that if that was truly a zone of “comfort” I wouldn’t have spent a summer in a clinic trying to get out of it! However, because I have been with my ED for many years, life without it is what seems uncomfortable.

This picture aims to symbolise that a life without ED can be a whole lot more comfortable than a life living in the prison of an eating disorder. I tried to illustrate this with hopeful colours, (Please note the use of silver and not gold…. I don’t need to always aim for perfection and gold in this new comfort zone… in fact it doesn’t matter if I get no medals at all!). I also picked out words associated with this new life I am trying to live:

  • Your New 2013 (who says tomorrow can’t be the start of a great new year for me!?)
  • Loving
  • Ready to go
  • Winners’ (Beating Ed)
  • Career
  • Pregnant (A possibility for the future)
  • Happy
  • Beautiful
  • Gorgeous
  • Fairy Cakes (Ill bake and eat them)
  • It’s over (ed)
  • And there’s more (than ed)
  • Discover
  • Fresh starts
  • Change your life
One thought on “Life Begins At The End Of Your Comfort Zone

  1. Love, love, love this post! The quote is so true, and I’m glad you are focusing on it. When I was in recovery I clung to the thought, “I want to be ALIVE.”–Not just breathing and walking through life in a fog, but grab-life-by-the-tail alive. I hope seeing glimpses of your awesome life as you move further into recovery is encouraging and gives you motivation to keep going! I fully believe you’ll get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

